Wk6-Art Experience- Zines

Not my cup of tea! This week’s art activity with zine or flipbooks was the hardest. Without having sat down to think about my ideas I already knew it was going to be a difficult project for me at least. As I’ve mentioned several times before I’m not very creative neither an artist. So first I thought hey I think I’ll draw some cool ideas I had in my head. But that was easier said than done. I cannot draw! I immediately grew frustrated. I did a bunch of different things but nothing was really coming out the way I wanted it to. Eventually, I just got an old book and started cutting out so pictures I also picked out some of my favorite picture I have in a tiny photo album. I started cutting out and putting things together. Something’s naturally began to fall into place. On one of the pages of my zine, I put tons of aerospace related images I figured that the perfect picture to go with it would me the one with my little sister because ever since I can remember she’s always talked about how she wants to be an aerospace engineer.

20161002_092143

After that it all just came to me. I realized that I could actually get this project done. It wasn’t as hard as I made it seem or thought of it being. I got so hooked on the activity that I literally did not want to stop till I felt I was done. Even then when I finished I wished I had more magazines to play with to add a bunch of more stuff. But for the very limited resources that I had I felt that I had a pretty good result. I think that once I get my hands on more magazines I’ll probably continue to add on.

20161002_092128

For this picture I added a background with tons of color and flowers because this was the first family day when we went out to welcome spring. Something I am looking forward to doing the upcoming spring.

20161002_092132This page of my zine was a reflection of my relationship with my big sister Daisy. For this one I picked our favorite childhood photo, a picture with palm trees, and a car. I picked the palm trees and car because its our favorite thing to do cruise out by down by in downtown long beach near the water.

20161002_095412

The picture on this page of my zine is of me and my god child that I was given the honor of baptizing about 2 years ago. I titiled it for her, because its for her that I try harder every day in school and want to be a success. I want her to have someone to look up to when she grows up. Unfortunately, neither of her parents got a high school diploma, and I wouldn’t want her to commit the same mistake.

20161002_094012I wanted to dedicate a page of my zine to my boyfriend of  6 years Daniel. This is one page I think needs a ton of more work but its a page I think he and I should work on together.

Leave a comment