Wk5- Art Experience- Graffiti Writing

20160925_144356

This weeks Art Experience was perhaps one of my favorites! It was the perfect get away for stressed out Selena, who is worried about midterms this coming week. It was also the perfect way to finally have the opportunity to visit Venice Beach, a beach I always wanted to go to but never had the opportunity to. It was also a great way to cool down because as you probably felt this weekend it was way too hot for anyone’s taste. Anyways, from before doing the activity I was already super excited because I got the most beautiful colors in my art bucket lavender and chrome. Secondly, I was finally going to see my boyfriend whom I had not seen for a week because of our very busy lives. Through out the drive to the beach I felt nervous because it was the first time I ever did anything like graffiti. But I also felt very intimidated by all the beautiful work I assumed was going to be there! I mean come on I am not that creative. Unfortunately once arriving to the beach on Sunday a lot of the streets were closed and there was no parking. Immediately I realized there was an event going on. Lots were full and no street parking was available. My boyfriend and I searched for about 2 hours and found nothing. I cried because I was so excited but missed out because of the parking situation. Anyways, after leaving Venice we headed to dollar tree bought some cardboard and got ready to paint! When I got home my mom had actually had just bought a washer so I got to use the box it came in giving me an even bigger canvas. Even though, it wasn’t at Venice and outside my apartment complex it was still a ton of fun under the sun. Graffiti writing was definitely not as easy as I thought it would be. It has its own technique which I did’t really get the hang of but something happened. I struggled a bit but it was interesting. It really made me reflect how long graffiti writers actually spend on their pieces.

art

Leave a Reply

