Wk 10-Art Experience-Fiber Art Social Network

The activities overall made me feel like I need to make more friends ha-ha! For the fiber social network we did in the class I felt that the only reason I connected to multiple people was because I was basically forced to. I mainly connected to people because of classmate conversations not really because I knew them before or did activities with them. It really made me reflect on whom I am as a person and that I need to start building relationships.

20161026_130316

For the second part of this week’s art activity I decided to literally take a social network, Instagram to create my real social network. Instagram shows how I have 235 followers or Instagram friends. But the reality is that I only have 12 people on my social network that I truly consider friends. My friends being people that I interact with almost everyday, people I know I can count on and turn to when in need, people that are willing to catch me if I fall. Before this activity I kind of just thought of a social network as a mobile tool that connects me to people in cyberspace. At one I point I believed that every single one did represent a friend but reality is that I cannot talk to them as I talk to my real friends. I cannot put in much trust in those other 220 plus followers as I do in my tiny social network of 12. I do believe in Dunbar’s number that we only have 150 truly meaningful relationships, and any others we know will be in more fragmentary ways. Aside of my 12 friends that I know I can connect to I can only think of a couple other people in my life time this far that I’ve made or have had a meaningful relationship with. To have all these friends on social media including Facebook, I think are only a representation of a form of entertainment. Because all those friends, make your news feed and for me personally I enjoy watching what interest people. It’s almost like a reality TV show via the Internet. I wish I could have close relationships with hundreds of people and really get to know their life stories, but I think that number is unrealistic. I realized that many of good and close relationships that I have are with mostly people I basically grew up with. It was kind of hard for me to see only because I’m afraid I don’t really welcome people in my circle. At the same time I think it has a lot to do with how timid I can be about opening up to people. I hardly ever make the effort to keep up with someone after thinking he or she were a great person to say study with. I think I need to work on that.

screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-10-13-04-am

 

Leave a Reply

