Wk2- Art Experience- Landscapes with a Corpse

20160904_195953This week’s art experience was a hard one. It was really difficult to come up with anything because death is something I don’t even want to imagine or even think about. I initially thought it would be a good idea to do something underwater given that drowning is my biggest fear. But I wanted to try something a little more impactful I wanted to show how I defeated a statistic.

I grew up in Compton, which many like to refer to as the hood. There’s a statistic that says that given by the neighborhood I was born in by the age of 16 I would be involved in a gang. It also says that by the age of 18 I would either be incarcerated or dead due to gang violence. A lot of the kids I grew up with always talked about how their biggest fear was not to make it past 18 and end up shot up dead in a corner so I wanted to project just that.

The image of me dead shot up in a corner is a representation of what I could’ve been but wasn’t. Creating the image and watching me create the project was something difficult for my parents to watch. They told me I was crazy for even thinking of death or anything related. It was also kind of hard on me because it’s the way many of my childhood friends ended up.

Overall, I think the activity was really self reflecting on how far I’ve come in life even if I am a hood baby.

* The tagging on the wall was already there I didn’t do anything illegal*

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

